Advertisement

Managing group members

Table of contents

Why should I join a group?

How do I add group members?

  1. Log in
  2. Go to your group (Find out how to find a group here
  3. Click Edit (pencil  ) and then Members  
  4. You can then add members at the bottom of the list. 

To add members, you’ll need a name or an email address. Type a name to display potential users. Click the selected user(s) to make them appear in the second column. You could also type one or more email addresses in the field below. Confirm your selection.

The rest of the process differs based on whether the RouteYou users are current users or new ones:

Is that GDPR compliant?

Yes, for the following reason. When you add an email address to a group, the person connected to that email address only receives a single invite.

That means there are two options:

  1. The user accepts the invite, creates a RouteYou account (if they don’t already have one), and joins your RouteYou group.
  2. The user rejects your invite, and the email address is discarded (cf GDPR). In other words, RouteYou does not store those email addresses and will not send any more messages without confirmation. 

How do I leave a group?

You’re free to leave a group any time you wish:

  1. Go to the group you’re a member of (Learn how to find out which groups you belong to here)
  2. Click the Share button    and select Leave.

Watch out, though! If you are the group owner, you can’t just leave. The group’s existence is dependent on your ownership. 

How can I join a group on my own?

  1. Log in and go to the group you would like to join (Find out how to find a group here) .
  2. Click the Share button  and select Join. Once the group owner approves your request, you become a member of that group.

Group roles

The group owner can assign different roles to group members with a varying degree of rights attached:

Changing a group member’s role

You can grant a member more or fewer rights by assigning them a different role.

The steps below show you how:

  1. Log in
  2. Go to your group (Find out how to find your group again here).
  3. Click Edit (pencil icon  ) and then Members 
  4. The members already linked to the group should display at the bottom of this list.
  5. Group owners can click the member’s role and modify it if needed. 

Deleting group members

As the owner, you are free to delete group members at any time. Essentially, what you do is rescind their link to the group. 

The steps below show you how:

  1. Log in
  2. Go to your group (Find out how to find your group again here).
  3. Click Edit (pencil icon ​​​​​​​ ) and then Members 
  4. The members already linked to the group should display at the bottom of this list.
  5. You should see an unlink button to the far right in a member’s row . Clicking this will remove the RouteYou user from your group. 
TIP
Do you have two RouteYou accounts? You can join your first user account groups with your second user account. Promote your second user account to Administrator. That will grant your second user account full rights and allow you to manage your groups from both accounts.

Frequently asked questions

How do I know which groups I belong to?

Via MyRouteYou

Find out by visiting your MyRouteYou page. Use the Search button (magnifying glass  ) on this page to find the group   . That will provide you with an overview of all groups of which you are at least an ordinary member. 

Via the group page

You can also visit the group page and use the Share button   to check whether it says join or leave.

If the leave option appears, that means you are a member and can click the button to leave the group.

Can non-members see my group’s routes? What about private routes?

Non-members can view your group’s routes if the group and routes are set to public. Private routes linked to a group can only be viewed by group members.

How do I handle spam in the group?

Read more about ‘communicating with group members’ here.

Find out more about spam here..

© 2006-2022 RouteYou - www.routeyou.com